Big Red Hacks

Hey there!

Slightly delayed post, but here’s a post about Big red Hacks in Cornell and what I did two weeks ago. Firstly, I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed the whole event, especially that I got to be bussed there and back for free with other collegiate Rochestrians. Free food for a weekend, as well as opportunities to meet with a bunch of different software companies is always welcome in my book.

And on to the project I worked on: https://github.com/fortnight/RhineNodePlasty was a attempt to visualize the information returned by the Rhine API. I worked on it with my friend CapDan, https://github.com/Capdan, who mysteriously has no picture of himself on Github. Regardless, we used java to facilitate calls to the api, as well as reformatting the return to be put into a json. We then used the d3.js library to format the output json into a graph we would show in the file “index.html”

It was all really fun and cool, and we found strange connections between cheese and the USA, or between Equalist rights and South Louisiana Bayou Barbecues. There were some other awesome projects as well, and those guys ended up winning. We didn’t get to finish what we were doing, but I’ll be making some headway into it for sure on my current advanced FOSS project

Leave a comment